Give them something

For years I focused on preparing and preaching sermons. I devoted myself to making the Sunday morning top notch. While I am still convinced this is a worthy goal I have come to realize something: talking to people about Jesus isn’t what really gets them to change. They need opportunities to experience Him. Over the next few months I am going to be starting a project. I am going to try and get as many people as possible trained and equipped to lead in different areas of the church. I am expecting that this “discipleship” practice will have an impact on the church in ways I can’t foresee. It’s one thing to tell them something. It’s another thing to give them something to do. I think my previous focus was the right beginning but it lacked the important conclusion. Jesus didn’t just call the disciples to listen to Him teach. After He was done teaching He sent them out with a mission. Discipleship requires an understanding of the Gospel and a lifestyle of applying the Gospel. I don’t know what it’s going to look like to give a large crew of people something to do. I am excited to see what impact it has on the church.

